Springfield Symphony Announces Theme of 2020-2021 Season

The Springfield Symphony announced their upcoming season is going to provide something to the community that is in need after the COVID-19 lockdown: Comfort Food.

“Comfort Food” will be a nine-concert subscription series that will start with the first show October 10, 2020 at the Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts.

“This has been a strange and challenging time for everyone all over the world,” Kyle Wiley Pickett, music director/conductor for the Springfield Symphony, said in a statement.  “We wanted to bring some sense of normalcy, familiarity, and comfort to our audiences and ourselves alike. With that said, we’ve decided to offer a season of music that will bring comfort and happiness to our community.  Much like the comfort of spaghetti and meatballs, chicken noodle soup, freshly baked bread or apple pies, the Springfield Symphony will bring a year of musical Comfort Food to our audiences, including favorites by Beethoven, Mozart, Mendelssohn, and Brahms.”

The season will be Pickett’s eighth season with the Springfield Symphony. Selections played this season will include:

  • Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 4
  • Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3
  • Mozart’s Sinfonia concertante
  • Brahms’s Symphony No. 2

More information about season tickets and upcoming dates for the Symphony can be found on their website.

Reader Comments