SPS’s Johnson Named Semi-Finalist for Missouri Teacher of the Year

Springfield Public Schools’ Teacher of the Year Armando Johnson has cleared another hurdle in the quest to become the state’s Teacher of the Year.

Johnson was named a semifinalist for the award Monday by the Missouri Department of Elementary & Secondary Education.

Johnson, a Spanish teacher at Central High School, is one of 15 state semifinalists. The list of 15 was determined from 34 Regional Teachers of the Year that were announced earlier this year. The next step for Johnson is the list of finalists, scheduled to be announced August 27.

Johnson is joined by two other Ozarks area educators: Grade 5 teacher Tonya Claybrook of the Spokane School District and math teacher Jesse Baker of Billings School District.

The current Missouri Teacher of the Year is Misty Grandel, an English language arts teacher in the Fordland School District.

Reader Comments