Missouri State’s Maxwell Wins 2020 Wynn Award

by Rick Kindhart

Missouri State women’s soccer goalkeeper Kaitlin Maxwell (Lincoln, Neb.) was announced Wednesday (June 24) as the recipient of the Dr. Mary Jo Wynn Senior Female Scholar-Athlete Award for 2020.

The Wynn Award is presented annually to the graduating active female senior student-athlete(s) with the highest grade-point average. The award is named in honor of the late Missouri State educator, coach and athletics administrator, Dr. Mary Jo Wynn, who became the first female to be named as a Missouri Sports Legend by the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame in 2014.

Maxwell completed her undergraduate degree in May with a 3.984 GPA and summa cum laude honors with a double major in Finance and Risk Management & Insurance.

In addition to earning MVC Goalkeeper of the Year for the second straight season in 2019, Maxwell was also named to the All-MVC first team, Missouri Valley Scholar-Athlete first team, and MVC All-Tournament Team. She also was named to the United Soccer Coaches Association Scholar All-Region Team.

She will be enrolled in graduate courses this fall at Missouri State while she enters her senior season of eligibility for coach Rob Brewer’s Bears. She is the sixth soccer player to earn the Wynn Award since its inception in 1981.

Reader Comments