Three Sworn In for Another Term on Ozark Board of Education

The Ozark Board of Education will have three familiar faces around for another term after the swearing in of three incumbents.

Tom Bass, Jeff Laney, and Shane Nelson were all unopposed in their race to stay on the Board. Laney, who was the previous board president, passed on that position to Aaron Johns (pictured), who will serve for the 2020-2021 school year.

“It’s a pleasure to take over the helm and follow in the footsteps of the previous great presidents that we’ve had as a Board,” Johns, who has served on the Board for 12 years and is a 1982 Ozark graduate, said in a statement. “I’m looking forward to working with the Board as we move forward with the Innovation Center. My goal is to continue to keep our students and staff a top priority, be transparent, and listen to the Ozark community, because they are our backbone for the growth of our school.”

The Board’s reorganization took place a week after voters approved a $26.5 million bond issue for the Ozark Innovation Center and Tiger Paw Early Childhood Center.

“It’s great having the experience of these three community members on the Board and to continue the momentum of Operation Renovate & Innovate,” Superintendent Chris Bauman said in a press statement. “We’re excited to move forward with our long range plan that will impact every current and future Ozark student.”

Reader Comments