Greene County June 2, 2020 Election Results

The municipal elections delayed from April to June 2, 2020 for Greene County showed some interesting results, including an 13-way tie for an Alderman position in Willard.

In Ash Grove, Mayor Les Gardner gets another term with 54% of the vote. Incumbent aldermen Jerry Kane and Troy Watts will spend another term in service, with Kane running unopposed and Watts defeating Sadie Ferwalt with 55% of the vote.

Battlefield’s Mayor Debra Hickey picked up another term with a 56-43% win over David Wilcox. Incumbent aldermen Zac Woods (64-34% over Darron Acklin) and Tim Ricke (unopposed) gained another term.

Ward 1 had no filed candidates and 17 write-in votes. Jerry Shubert was the leading candidate with 3 votes. When the vote is certified, the city clerk will verify Shubert is eligible to hold the office.

Fair Grove will have a new mayor as incumbent Anthony Miller was defeated 60-39% by Planning and Zoning co-chair Stephen Short.

Ward 3 alderman Jeffrey Danderson earned 63% of the vote despite no other filed candidates; there were 19 write-in votes against Danderson’s 32 votes. Ward 2 alderman Steve Mallard barely hung onto his seat with a 4 vote win over Christopher Hodges.

In Ward 1, Richard Avery, a newcomer, ran unopposed.

Republic’s election held no drama, as all of the races had one candidate who earned at least 95% of the vote. Jeff Ussery gets another term as Mayor, and Eric Franklin & Garry Wilson earned re-election. They will be joined by newcomers Christopher Updike and Jennifer Mitchell.

Likewise, Strafford’s election held little drama as Jackson Campbell and Kevin King were unopposed for their alderman seat; Dustin Reed had no filed opposition but had two write in votes against his 24 votes.

Willard had one of two county hotspots of drama for Election Day. Ward 1 and Ward 2’s elections were without tension, as Donna Stewart and Sam Baird earned 97 and 94 percent of the vote respectively; Ward 3 is a true free-for-all.

Unofficial counts showed 13 people tied for the office; there was no filed candidate so all were added via write-in. City officials will have to decide what to do after the results are certified by the county clerk.

Walnut Grove Mayor Eldon Locke held off two challengers with 55% of the vote to earn another term. Butch Stevens picked up a 5 vote win over Judy Malloy in the Alderman North Ward Race. The South Ward? The county’s other hotspot with 20 write-in votes because there was no filed candidate.

Multiple school districts had seats up for grabs. Here are the winners in each:

  • Marion C. Early: Kevin Painter, Ginger Bumgarner, Thomas Francka
  • Pleasant Hope: Mitzi Kelly, Jacob Miller, Brandon Presley
  • Republic: Tammy Messier, John Parker, Denny Lawson
  • Walnut Grove: Danelle Maxwell, Jeremy Kelley, Tyler Jeffreys
  • Willard: Devon Jarvis, Jason Jay Dixon, Ronald Crighton

Reader Comments