Central High HOSA Team One of Four to Receive Worldwide Honor

Central High School’s HOSA program is living in some extremely rare air.

The school’s Future Health Professionals team (HOSA) has been given the Outstanding HOSA Achievement Award, a prize given to only four schools in the entire world.

The Central HOSA team represented Missouri in international competition for the third year in a row after being named best in the state. In addition to the overall chapter awards, several members won individual awards and will take part in an international competition in June.

HOSA is an international academic leadership organization for future health professionals. Students are graded in competition on such items as leadership, school, and community service.

Here is the list of chapter awards won by Central’s HOSA team and the individual awards at state competition:

Chapter Awards

  • Outstanding HOSA Achievement
  • HOSA Service Project Certificate of Merit (High School)
  • HOSA Service Project Certificate of Merit (Middle School)
  • HOSA Happenings Certificate of Achievement (High School)
  • HOSA Happenings Certificate of Achievement (Middle School)

Individual Awards

  • Medical Reading Middle School – 1st Trisha Tewari
  • Nutrition Middle School – 1st Ugurcan Buyurgan
  • Extemporaneous Health Poster Middle School – 1st Keren Ding
  • Biomedical Laboratory Science – 1st Toheed Mahmood
  • Healthcare Issues– 1st Sreya Mandava
  • Job Seeking Skills – 1st Kylie Mostyn
  • Extemporaneous Health Poster – 1st Madison Dimmick
  • Extemporaneous Health Poster – 3rd Emma Huffman
  • Health Education – 2nd Kyle Gepayo, Grace Park, Joya Pradhan, Elisabeth Vancercin
  • Clinical Specialty – 3rd Chris Beersman
  • Community Awareness – 3rd Dani Harris, Audrey Lawless-Young, Anaevay Martz
  • Cultural Diversities & Disparities – 3rd Jenny Pham
  • Biomedical Debate – 3rd Andrew An, John Georgiades, Sreya Mandava
  • Healthcare Issues – Top 10% — Kalea Aberle, Emma Huffman, Megan Liermann
  • Healthcare Issues — Recognition — Choong An, Avery Baker, Chris Beersman, Briana Borland, Carson Brown, Biley Cipper, Goodnews Ehie, John Georgiades, Kyle Gepayo, Simarpreet Girn, Hunter Harrell, Nicolas Keller, Jaiden Latimer, Jinyi Lu, Toheed Mahmood, Abbye McClaskey, Victoria Mercado, Abbygael Mitchell, Jenny Pham, Joyas Pradhan, Jenna Skidmore, Sumeya Tummala, Brett Turner, Hannah Woodruff, Elisabeth Vancercin, and Evelyn VanDenBerg


  • Health Career Photography – 4th Briana Borland
  • Biomedical Debate – 4th Brett Boney, Jinyi Lu, Tori Mercado, Melissa Tran
  • Clinical Nursing – 5th Abbye McClaskey
Reader Comments