Dr. Robert Spence Headlines 2020 Evangel Athletics Hall of Fame Class

Evangel University has announced their 2020 Athletics Hall of Fame class featuring the school’s most prolific basketball scorer and a former University president.

Dr. Robert Spence, who passed away earlier this year, headlines the 2020 class. Dr. Spence was the longest-tenured president of Evangel and at the time of his retirement was the longest-tenured president in the state of Missouri & second-longest in the United States.

Spence was a driving factor in the expansion of athletics at Evangel during his tenure. Spence developed the idea of a football program for Evangel which began play in 1977. The school also reinstituted several programs under his tenure, including cross country, golf, softball, and track & field.

Also in the class is the man who has more points for Evangel basketball than anyone else. Jackson Capel scored 2,337 points during his career. He scored 733 points as a junior, and 730 as a senior, while establishing himself as the top three point scorer in school history.

Capel is still the only Crusader to make more than 100 three point shots in a single season.

Also making the 2020 Hall of Fame Class:

Julia Thrasher, a softball star who was the 2007 Heart of America Conference Player of the Year. She hit .404 in her career, with her 24 home runs ranking her third in the history of the school. She led the team to the school’s only trip to the NAIA Softball World Series in 2006.

Brian Hartzler was a two-time NAIA All-American and he earned five trips to the NAIA Track National Championships: Outdoors in 2004 and 2005, Indoor in 2004, 2005, and 2006. He still holds seven different records including the 200 & 400 meter and 600 yard races.

Anthony Ray lead the Crusaders football team in receiving and kickoff returns for three straight seasons, and in scoring for two seasons. He holds three career records for the school including all time receiving yards (2,719) and most yards per game (75.5.)

The members of the class of 2020 will be inducted during the Hall of Fame banquet on Friday, September 11, 2020.

Reader Comments