Primary Deadline Passes; Arnott, Hill Unopposed; Two Incumbents Don’t Run for New Term

Greene County will have least three new county officeholders after Tuesday’s deadline passed with incumbents not filing for re-election.

The county will have a new Public Administrator, as current administrator David Yancey did not file for another term. The position will be held by Sherri Eagon Martin, a Republican, who is the only candidate for the position.

Rick Kessinger, the incumbent County Assessor, did not file for another term, leaving three people vying for the position. Conan Dougherty, Joe Durnall, and Brent Johnson are all running as Republicans to replace Kessinger.

Two incumbents are going to be serving another term for the county as the only candidates for their offices.

Greene County Treasurer Justin Hill

County Treasurer Justin Hill and Sheriff Jim Arnott, both Republicans, will be unopposed.

Both Commissioner races will be competitive with Republican and Democrat candidates for both districts, and a libertarian candidate running in District 2.

The race for District 1, where Commissioner Harold Bengsch is retiring, will have two Republicans and one Democrat on the August ballot. The Republican race has Sonya Murray Anderson facing Rusty MacLachlan. The lone Democrat is Wes Zongker.

In District 2, incumbent John Russell is the lone Republican. Former state representative Sara Lampe, who ran in 2018 against Presiding Commissioner Bob Dixon, will face him in November along with Libertarian Cecil Ince.

Reader Comments