Springfield Public Schools Names New Principals

Springfield Public Schools announced the appointment of four new elementary school principals for the 2020-2021 school year.

Three of the four come from within the district, and the fourth is an award-winning educator from Poplar Bluff.

“I am very excited to have each of these leaders on our Springfield Public Schools team,” Dr. J. Anderson, executive director of elementary learning, said in a statement. “These highly qualified, student-centered educators care deeply about our children, their families and our staff. They bring a variety of experiences and are committed to a collaborative team approach in support of learning experiences that benefit everyone.”

Here are the schools where the new principals will be leading along with a SPS provided biography of each principal:

Holland Elementary

Mrs. Kara Boehmer has been named principal of Holland Elementary, effective July 1. Mrs. Boehmer is currently the principal at Portland Elementary, where she has served for two years. Previously, she was assistant principal at Hubble Elementary School in the Marshfield R-1 School District and served as the assistant to the principal at Disney and Bingham elementary schools with SPS.   Prior to her leadership roles, Mrs. Boehmer served as a teacher for several years in the Willard School District and remains passionate about elementary learning. Mrs. Boehmer holds a bachelor of science degree in elementary education and a master’s degree in educational leadership from Evangel University, as well as an education specialist degree in administration from Southwest Baptist University. Mrs. Boehmer is currently pursuing a doctorate at Evangel University. “I look forward to joining the Holland team and continuing the work to support a positive community that honors and recognizes a diverse student population,” said Mrs. Boehmer. “Holland Elementary has an admirable reputation within SPS and I feel blessed to be selected as the lead learner, supporting the amazing work of a committed group of teachers and staff.” 

Pittman Elementary

Mrs. Melissa Agnew has been named principal of Pittman Elementary, effective July 1. Currently, Mrs. Agnew is the learning coach at Pittman, having served in that role for four years. Prior experience includes three years as a second grade teacher at Logan-Rogersville Elementary and seven years as a third-grade teacher at Branson Elementary West.    Mrs. Agnew completed her undergraduate work in elementary education and graduate work in educational administration – both at Missouri State University.

“I’m thrilled to continue working with a team of stellar educators, parents and students to reach our goals at Pittman,” said Mrs. Agnew. “I am passionate about providing a safe, loving environment for students and providing each student with learning opportunities to support growth – both academically and socially. I believe students are our most precious resource and our top priority.” 

Robberson Community School

Dr. Brad Owings has been named principal of Robberson Community School, effective July 1. Dr. Owings has 17 years of experience as a building administrator and currently serves as principal of Poplar Bluff Middle School, overseeing 135 staff members and 1,200 students.   Prior experience includes service as principal of Parkway Elementary School in the St. Joseph School District, principal of West Plains Elementary School and assistant principal of West Plains Middle School. This year, Dr. Owings received the MAESP Distinguished Principal recognition for the Southeast Region.

Dr. Owings holds a bachelor of science in education from Lincoln University, a master’s in elementary and secondary administration from William Woods University and a doctorate in educational leadership and policy analysis from the University of Missouri.

“I am excited for the opportunity to serve Robberson Community School and the Springfield school district,” said Dr. Owings. “I look forward to getting to know the students, parents and staff that make Robberson a great place and a cornerstone of the community.”

Watkins Elementary

Mrs. Joanna Clark has been named principal of Watkins Elementary, effective July 1. Mrs. Clark currently serves as the assistant principal at Sherwood Elementary. Prior to her leadership experience at Sherwood, she dedicated 17 years as a teacher at Fremont and Harrison elementary schools.
Mrs. Clark completed her undergraduate work in elementary education and her graduate work in educational administration – both at Evangel University.”As principal of Watkins Elementary, my desire will be to uphold a standard of excellence and set goals for the future,” said Mrs. Clark. “I look forward to partnering with the Watkins community to support the learning and growth of our students. I appreciate and value our staff and will work to empower each one.”

Reader Comments