Nominations for 2020 Turner Reading Awards Opens

If you know a teacher who goes above and beyond to spur their students to gain a love and passion for reading, you have the opportunity to nominate them for a Turner Reading Award.

The Foundation for Springfield Public Schools is now accepting applications for the 2020 Turner Reading Awards. The nominations for the award come from the general public, with a nomination deadline of February 24, 2020.

“When a teacher is passionate about literacy, that passion is passed on to their students, fostering a lifelong love of reading,” Natalie Murdock, Turner Reading Awards executive director, said in a statement. “These awards recognize those outstanding teachers that make such an impact on our students.”

The Turner Reading Awards began in 2002 with the support of the Turner family of Springfield. A cash prize is given to five winning teachers and their schools.

Last year’s winners were:

  • Rachel Hoing – Watkins Elementary, Kindergarten
  • Shondra Collins – York Elementary, 5th Grade
  • Alyssa Wicklund – Westport Middle School, 6th Grade
  • Liz Eason – Weller, Reading Interventionist K-2
  • Kendall Bennett – Jarrett Middle School, 6 & 8th Grade

If you wish to nominate a teacher, visit before February 24. If you have questions, contact Tina Pham at

Reader Comments