Kickapoo Wins 2019 Arvest Classic; Brookshire Tournament MVP

The Kickapoo Chiefs pulled out to an early lead and slowly made it grow through the championship game to win the 2019 Arvest Classic basketball tournament at Parkview High School.

The Chiefs beat Raytown 82-66 in the championship game, lead by Anton Brookshire’s 26 points. Cameron Liggans added 17 and Elijah Bridges 13 points to be the other Chiefs in double figures.

Cary Ragan also provided outstanding defense with double digit rebounds and several blocks in the post.

Raytown in the loss was led by Cortez Howlett, who almost matched Brookshire in scoring 25 points. Raytown had four players in double figures, with Karl Jackson and Trayvon Parker scoring 13 and Aaron Franklin adding 11.

Helias Catholic won the third place game with a 58-41 win over Lafayette Wildwood. Marcus Anthony had 18 points, Issac Johnson 13, and Damon Johanns 10 points to lead the Crusaders.

Drew Behl has 10 points in the loss for the Lancers.

Fifth place went to the Parkview Vikings varsity squad, 52-34 over Newcastle. Elijah Whitley lead Parkview with 20 points and Kalub Hunt lead Newcastle with 16 points.

In seventh place was Fayetteville, who crushed the Parkview JV team 74-39. Tamaury Releford lead Fayetteville with 14 points in the win, Zay Beal had 14 points in the loss.

The tournament MVP was Kickapoo’s Anton Brookshire.

The All Tournament team is:

  • Elijah Bridgers, Kickapoo
  • Cameron Liggans, Kickapoo
  • Cortez Howlett, Raytown
  • Aaron Franklin, Raytown
  • Isaac Johnson, Helias Catholic
  • Marcus Anthony, Helias Catholic
  • Ryan Campbell, Lafayette Wildwood
  • Kalub Hunt, Newcastle
  • Elijah Whitley, Parkview
  • Dontae Taylor, Parkview

(Headline photo courtesy Kickapoo Basketball twitter.)

Reader Comments