Water Rescue Team to Receive Governor’s Medal

The members of the Springfield Fire Department’s Water Rescue Team will be honored on October 7 by Missouri Governor Mike Parson.

The Governor will give eight members of the team the Governor’s Medal in connection with their efforts in a flash flooding rescue in the Fair Grove area on September 7, 2018. The team was nominated by Fair Grove Chief Erich Higgins.

“I am proud of the efforts by our Water Rescue Team under very difficult conditions. I am appreciative of Chief Higgins for his nomination, and Department of Public Safety Director Karsten and Gov. Parson for this honor in recognition of our responders,” Fire Chief David Pennington said in a statement.

The team members who will receive the honor include:

  • Lieutenant Daniel Tscherny
  • Captain Jason Bogema (now retired)
  • Rescue Specialist Tony Fields
  • Firefighter Josh Bravestone
  • Firefighter Zach Keller
  • Firefighter Garett Olson
  • Firefighter Tyler Nevins
  • Firefighter Dustin Matney

The Governor’s Medal is given to public safety officers who “act above and beyond the call of normal duty” when facing critical incidents or life-threatening situations. Nominations are sent to the Missouri Medal of Valor Review Board, which then sends recommendations to the Missouri Department of Public Safety.

Reader Comments