Federal Disaster Assistance Now Available for Greene County

The Springfield-Greene County Office of Emergency Management has announced applications are now open for federal disaster relief.

President Trump signed a disaster declaration for 20 Missouri counties on July 9, including Greene County. The declaration is related to severe storms, flooding and tornadoes that struck the region beginning on April 29.

“Now that federal assistance is available to those affected by the succession of severe weather that has impacted our community, it is important that individuals, families and business owners apply to see if they qualify to receive funds to recover from the storms that have affected Greene County,” Springfield-Greene County Office of Emergency Management Director Larry Woods said in a statement.

Any Greene County resident that wants to apply for federal grants needs to bring the following information for their application:

  • Social Security Number (SSN), or the SSN of a minor in the household who is a U.S. Citizen, Non-Citizen National or Qualified Alien
  • Annual Household Income
  • Contact Information (phone number, mailing address and damaged home address)
  • Insurance Information (coverage, insurance company name, etc.)
  • Bank Account Information (routing number, account number) If you are eligible to receive financial assistance, the money can be direct deposited in your account

The Greene County Commission expressed their thanks to the federal government for their help.

“We as the County Commission are happy that this declaration will make additional resources available to help local residents who were impacted by the storms,” Commissioner Harold Bengsch said in a statement. “We also appreciate the valuable role OEM staff and area partners play during and after events like these.”

Residents and business owners can apply online for grants at DisasterAssistance.gov or you can call 1-800-621-3362 for more information.

Reader Comments