Springfield Mayor Finalizes City Council Committee Assignments

Springfield Mayor Ken McClure has announced finalizing the committee memberships for members of the Springfield City Council.

These committees of four Council members will look at policy issues and analyze upcoming potential resolutions and bills before they are sent to the full Council. The Mayor is an ex-officio member of all committees (meaning as Mayor, his office places him on all committees.)

Mayor McClure being sworn in for his second term

“Committee work plays such an important role in aiding Council to develop the best possible public policy work product,” Mayor McClure said in a statement. “I sincerely thank each of our volunteer leaders for their willingness to serve in committee roles.”

The committee work takes place outside the regularly scheduled Monday night Council meetings and Tuesday Council Lunch discussion sessions. Many of the meetings are held in the Councilman Denny Whayne Conference Room in the Busch Municipal Building and are open to the public.

The schedule of committee meetings and their agendas are available on the City’s website.

The Mayor appoints the members to all committees except the Public Involvement Committee, which is made up of the four elected Zone representatives and the Mayor.

Citizens are also encouraged when they reach out to a Councilmember to approach a member who is on a committee that addresses the citizen’s issue. For example, if you have a problem with the fee the city charges for a service, approach a member of the Finance and Administration Committee with your concern.

Here are the assignments for the new Council Committees:

The Finance and Administration Committee

  • Andy Lear, General Councilman (Chair)
  • Jan Fisk, General Councilwoman
  • Mike Schilling, Zone 3 Councilman        
  • Matthew Simpson, Zone 4 Councilman

Areas of Responsibility:

  • Fees and charges for City services
  • Economic Development
  • Federal and State assistance programs
  • Supervises Internal Auditor
  • Monitors Internal Audit plan
  • Makes Recommendations to Council regarding Audit findings

The Plans and Policies Committee

  • Richard Ollis, General Councilman (Chair)
  • Craig Hosmer, General Councilman
  • Andy Lear, General Councilman
  • Abe McGull, Zone 2 Councilman

Areas of Responsibility:

  • Master planning of all areas
  • Council goals and procedures
  • City Code revisions

The Community Involvement Committee

  • Craig Hosmer, General Councilman (Chair)
  • Phyllis Ferguson, Zone 1 Councilwoman
  • Jan Fisk, General Councilwoman
  • Richard Ollis, General Councilman

Areas of Responsibility:

  • Legislative Priorities
  • Neighborhood Issues
  • Environmental Issues

The Public Involvement Committee

  • Mike Schilling, Zone 3 Councilman (Chair)
  • Phyllis Ferguson, Zone 1 Councilwoman
  • Abe McGull, Zone 2 Councilman
  • Matthew Simpson, Zone 4 Councilman

Areas of Responsibility:

  • Recommendations for appointment to Boards and Commissions
Reader Comments