Springfield Public Schools Names 3 New Principals

Springfield Public Schools has announced three new principals for the upcoming school year.

Photo courtesy Springfield Public Schools

Kimberly Yeary will begin July 1 as the new principal of Pleasant View K-8. Yeary currently is the principal of Aurora Junior High school after three years as the assistant principal of Westport K-8.

In her career, Yeary has worked as a communications arts teacher in Rogersville, Nixa, Ozark and Fair Play.

“I’m excited about returning to SPS and the opportunity to work with the faculty, students and families at Pleasant View K-8. My passion lies in servant leadership, working with teachers to help students grow academically, socially and emotionally to empower them to be the very best they can be,” Mrs. Yeary said in a statement. “I look forward to building relationships with my teachers, students and the community on this new journey.”

Photo courtesy Springfield Public Schools

Rountree Elementary will have Misty Ramsey taking over as their new leader. Ramsey is currently the assistant to principals at Bingham and Sherwood Elementaries.

Ramsey has a background in special education and has served as the principal for the Explore program at Sherwood, Pershing, and Delaware Elementaries.

“I am eager to join the Rountree family,” said Mrs. Ramsey. “I love people and education and firmly believe that students come first. I believe that relationships are the foundation that elevate learning in the classroom. Our students deserve the best education possible.”

Photo courtesy Springfield Public Schools

Amanda Desa will take over at Williams Elementary for the next school year. Desa is currently the school community liaison for Weaver Elementary.

Desa has taught third and fifth grades at Weaver Elementary and has been Explore principal for both Weaver and Campbell Elementaries.

Reader Comments