McClure, Ollis, Simpson Win Another Term; McGull Newest Springfield City Council Member

Mayor Ken McClure gets another two years in the middle seat in the City Council chambers as Richard Ollis and Matt Simpson will continue to serve after winning their races in today’s City Council elections.

The Mayor and councilmembers were running unopposed in their reelection bids.

“I’m very honored and humbled by the confidence the voters have placed,” Mayor McClure told OI. “I’ve enjoyed being Mayor and I think we’ve made good progress over the last two years and I’m looking forward to the next two years. We have good challenges but with them come good opportunities.”

Both Ollis and Simpson spoke of the opportunities ahead for the community in their thoughts about being given another term.

“It’s a real honor to be able to continue serving,” Simpson told OI. “I’m very excited about the opportunities we have for Zone 4 and the city over the next few years and that I can work on them.”

“I’m excited to serve the community another four years,” Ollis said. “I really look forward to the opportunity our community has together as we forge ahead.”

Also running unopposed is the Council’s newest member, Abe McGull. The veteran and federal prosecuting attorney will take over for Tom Prater, who did not seek reelection.

Reader Comments