MSU Football Players Honored for Academic Excellence

by Missouri State Athletics

A total of 28 Missouri State University football players were honored Thursday by the Missouri Valley Football Conference for academic excellence during the 2018 academic term.

MSU senior safety Jared Beshore earned the league’s highest academic honor in the President’s Council Academic Excellence Award, which requires a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average (through the fall 2018 semester) and participation in athletics a minimum of two years. The student-athletes receiving this award must also be within 18 hours of graduation. A total of 34 players throughout the 10-team league received the honor this year.

Beshore holds a 3.84 grade-point average in Physical Education and is a three-time CoSIDA Academic All-District selection (2016-18). He finished third on the team in total tackles in 2018 with 69 and pulled in a team-high three interceptions. Beshore earned MVFC all-academic team honors previously in 2016 and was on the Preseason All-MVFC Team in 2016 and 2017. Beshore also landed a spot on the MVFC All-Newcomer Team in 2015 and was on the MVFC Commissioner’s Award list three times, the MVFC Honor Roll four times, and the Missouri State Athletic Director’s Honor Roll eight semesters. He finished his career with 239 career tackles in 44 games with seven tackles for loss and seven interceptions.

Beshore also headlined a group of Missouri State players honored with the Commissioner’s Academic Excellence Award, which requires a minimum GPA of 3.2 for the previous two semesters (freshmen are not eligible.). Including MSU honorees Beshore, Charles Carter, Alex Coffin, JT Granato, Brock Hughes, Peyton Huslig, Ty McDuffey, Brad Pryor, Jordan Turner, and Jordan Wilkes, a total of 173 players league-wide earned this honor.

Both Beshore and Huslig were named to the MVFC All-Academic Team at the conclusion of the 2018 season.

Additionally, a total of 28 MSU standouts were recognized on the 2018 MVFC Honor Roll, which recognizes student-athletes who recorded a minimum 3.0 grade point average for the fall 2018 semester. These individuals must have been a member of the football team and must have a minimum of 12 hours of enrollment during the fall. Missouri State’s qualifiers on this elite list include: Beshore, Lonell Boyd, Carter, Aaron Clardy, Coffin, Ian Fitzgerald, Easton Flaugh, Angelo Garbutt, Granato, Jordan Guilfoy, Mason Hewitt, Hughes, Skyler Hulse, Huslig, Derek Kohler, Parker Lacina, Claudio Martin, Greg McCalister, Mario McClendon, McDuffey, Darrius Montgomery, Pryor, Aaron Samek, Isaac Smith, Ethan Swanegan, Turner, Wilkes, and Brendan Withrow.

Reader Comments